June 6, 2011

Tyson, Abbott receive 2011 Fisher Diversity Awards


Fisher alumnus Jesse Tyson, an executive with ExxonMobil and a member of the Dean's Advisory Council, received the 2011 Individual Diversity Award. The corporate award was given to Abbott Nutrition.

Tyson was cited for on-going support and advocacy for the National Black MBA Association's Leaders of Tomorrow program and a national case competition, which was hosted by Fisher in 2008. He also established a scholarship grant fund in honor of his mentor, Dr. Frank W. Hale, Jr., the former assistant to the president of The Ohio State University.

Abbott Nutrition was cited for its on-going support of Fisher student affinity organizations, including activities with the Asian Business Student Association, Hispanic Business Student Association and the National Association of Black Accountants.

The keynote speaker was Jeff Tate, global finance director for Dow Chemical Co. In its 10th year, the Fisher College of Business Diversity Awards program was held on May 31 at the Blackwell Inn.

The awards program was organized by the Office of Minority Student Services and student leaders from the Asian Business Student Association; Black MBA Association; Chinese Business Professionals Association; Council of Black Student Association, Fisher Latino Graduate Association; Graduate Women in Business; Hispanic Business Student Association; Indian MBA Association; International Business Club; National Association of Black Accountants; Out in Business and Undergraduate Business Women's Association.

Leadership Awards recipients

Ellen Tsao (Asian Business Student Association)
Ning Wang (Asian Business Student Association)
Anthony Cayce (Black MBA Association)
Gang Wang (Chinese Business Professional Association)
DeGerald Edwards (Council of Black Students in Administration)
Robyn Jenkins (Fisher Graduate Women in Business)
Basesh Gala (Fisher Indian Student Association)
Cecilia Shiroma-Kian (Fisher Latino Graduate Association)
Yamila Grioni (Hispanic Business Student Association)
Brad Nocco (International Business Club)
Miaisha Nunnally (National Association of Black Accountants)
Josh Ramzy (Out in Business)
Felicia Hans (Undergraduate Business Women’s Association)

Service Awards recipients

Jiaxi Wu (Asian Business Student Association)
Xia Huang (Chinese Business Professional Association)
Anwar Watson (Council of Black Students in Administration)
Lauren Kirk (Black MBA Association)
Robert Cary (Black MBA Association)
Danyale Nabors-Washington (Fisher Graduate Women in Business)
Tracy Shoemaker (Fisher Graduate Women in Business)
Jyotisko Sinha (Fisher Indian Student Association)
Joe Lopez (Fisher Latino Graduate Association)
Raquel Hernandez (Hispanic Business Student Association)
Naomi Johnson (National Association of Black Accountants)
Howard Patton (National Association of Black Accountants)
Patrick Leneghan (Out In Business)

Perseverance Awards recipients

Soonku Nam (Asian Business Student Association)
Fan Lin (Chinese Business Professional Association)
Mark Darden (Council of Black Students in Administration)
Ashley Harris (Black MBA Association)
Eve Wendzicki (Fisher Graduate Women in Business)
Karan Goyal (Fisher Indian Student Association)
Maria Claudia Cosme (Fisher Latino Graduate Association)
Justin Slivken (Hispanic Business Student Association)
Aisha Watkins (National Association of Black Accountants)
Brandon Shook (Out In Business)