College Leadership

Dean Makhija speaking at a podium

Anil K. Makhija serves as dean and John W. Berry, Sr. Chair in Business of the Max M. Fisher College of Business. Makhija is recognized as an expert in the field of finance, particularly capital structure, corporate governance and valuation, and has more than 20 years of experience in academic leadership roles.

Prior to his appointment to dean in October 2014, Makhija served as senior associate dean at Fisher. He has served on the faculty of the business college since 1998 and has held the Dean’s Distinguished Professorship and the David A. Rismiller Professorship in Finance. He chaired Fisher’s Department of Finance and served as an associate dean of executive education programs, where he was responsible for the development of Fisher’s top-ranked Executive MBA program.

Makhija has led consulting and executive development programs for dozens of leading companies in the U.S. and around the world. He has held visiting faculty appointments at respected institutions in Chile, the Czech Republic, Ecuador, Hong Kong, India and Korea.

He is a respected and widely published researcher. He is also the winner of numerous teaching awards, including the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching and the Pace Setters Daniel Westerbeck Teaching Excellence Award — the highest teaching honors bestowed by, respectively, Ohio State and Fisher College of Business.

Makhija has been a featured expert in media outlets such as The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, The New York Times, Financial Times and Bloomberg Businessweek, among many others.

He has a PhD from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, an MBA from Tulane University, and a Bachelor of Technology from the Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi.

  • Leadership Team

    Aravind Chandrasekaran
    Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Executive Education
    (614) 292-4223
    chandrasekaran.24@osu.edu

    Melanie DiFeo
    Chief for Staff & Culture Initiatives
    (614) 292-7718
    difeo.3@osu.edu

    Andrea Prud'homme
    Associate Dean for Undergraduate Students and Programs
    (614) 292-3173
    prudhomme.3@osu.edu

    Ben Tepper
    Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Research
    (614) 688-2129
    tepper.15@osu.edu

    Cynthia Turner
    Assistant Dean and Chief Diversity Officer, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
    (614) 292-4023
    turner.1278@osu.edu

     

  • Department Chairs

    Joe Goodman
    Chair, Department of Marketing and Logistics
    goodman.425@osu.edu

    James Hill
    Chair, Department of Operations and Business Analytics
    (614) 292-4605
    hill.249@osu.edu

    Bob Lount
    Chair, Department of Management and Human Resources
    (614) 292-0737
    lount.1@osu.edu

    Bernadette Minton
    Chair, Department of Finance
    (614) 688-3125
    minton.15@osu.edu

    Anil Arya
    Chair, Department of Accounting and MIS
    (614) 292-2221
    arya.4@osu.edu

     

  • Senior Executives & Associates to the Dean

    Richard Brown
    Chief Development and Alumni Relations Officer
    brown.8537@osu.edu

    Gretchen Gombos
    Executive Director of Finance and Administration
    (614) 292-5984
    gombos.2@osu.edu

    Francisco-Xavier Gomez-Bellenge
    Associate to the Dean for Special Projects
    (614) 292-6684
    gomez-bellenge.1@osu.edu

    Jeffrey Rice
    Associate to the Dean for Staff Professional Development
    Executive Director, Career Management
    (614) 292-8588
    rice.122@osu.edu

  • Office of the Dean Support Staff

    Patti Flinn
    Executive Assistant to the Dean
    (614) 292-2666
    flinn.7@osu.edu

  • Executive Committee

    Fisher College of Business Executive Committee is comprised of the dean, associate deans and department chairs of all academic programs. Two at large faculty members and a representative of the Staff Advisory Council complete the committee.

    The current executive committee includes:

    Ben Campbell
    Faculty Representative

    Aravind Chandrasekaran
    Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Executive Education

    Tracy Dumas
    Faculty Representative

    Joe Goodman
    Chair, Department of Marketing & Logistics (ML)

    James Hill
    Chair, Department of Operations and Business Analytics (O&BA)

    Stephanie Lewis
    Co-Chair Advisory Committee: Clinical Faculty and Senior Lecturers

    Bob Lount
    Chair, Department of Management and Human Resources (MHR)

    Anil Makhija
    Dean (Committee chair)

    Bernadette Minton
    Chair, Department of Finance (FIN)

    Birsel Pirim
    Co-Chair Advisory Committee: Clinical Faculty and Senior Lecturers

    Andrea Prud'homme
    Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs

    Anil Arya
    Chair, Department of Accounting & MIS (AMIS)

    Ben Tepper
    Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Research

    Cynthia Turner
    Assistant Dean and Chief Diversity Officer

Contact the Office of the Dean

The Ohio State University Fisher College of Business
201 Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210