PhD Alumni

Our PhD program has a long history of preparing PhD students to teach and research at leading institions across the country. In 1950, the first three PhD students graduated from our program.

Alumni Research Ranking

  • Top 25 internationally in terms of alumni publications in leading accounting journals according to Brigham Young University Accounting Research Rankings
YearAreaNameInitial PlacementCurrent Affiliation
2023Acct.Tyler AtanasovPurdue UniversityPurdue University
2022Acct.Daniel Yang Hong Kong University of Science and TechnologyHong Kong University of Science and Technology
2021Acct.Mary CowxUniversity of MissouriArizona State University
2019Acct.Danyang JiangUniversity of International Business & Economics (Beijing)University of International Business & Economics (Beijing)
2019Acct.Min ParkUniversity of KansasUniversity of Kansas
2019Acct.Brent SchmidtPennsylvania State UniversityPennsylvania State University
2019Acct.Hailey BallewRice University Rice University 
2018Acct. Aaron NelsonUniversity of Georgia (visiting)University of Texas at El Paso
2018Acct.Diana ChoiPurdue University Purdue University 
2017Acct.Jing LiuChapman UniversityChapman University
2016Acct.Allison NicolettiThe University of PennsylvaniaThe University of Pennsylvania
2015Acct.Bret JohnsonGeorge Mason UniversityGeorge Mason University
2014Acct.Minkwan AhnThe University of Hong KongSungkyunkwan University
2014Acct.Wonik ChoiCalifornia State University FullertonCalifornia State University, Fullerton
2014Acct.Michael IselinUniversity of MinnesotaUniversity of Minnesota
2014Acct.Austin SudburyCarnegie Mellon UniversityCarnegie Mellon University
2013Acct.Duri ParkDrexel UniversitySogang University
2012Acct.Lin ChengUniversity of ArizonaChina Europe International Business School
2012Acct.Jennifer Sustersic StevensUniversity of Notre Dame
Ohio University
2011Acct.Anthony MederBinghamton University-SUNYBinghamton University-SUNY
2011Acct.Yunyan ZhangUniversity of MelbourneUniversity of Adelaide
2009Acct.Reining PetacchiMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyGeorgetown University
2008Acct.Scott LiaoUniversity of TorontoUniversity of Toronto
2008Acct.Yifan WangPrivate FirmPrivate Firm
2007Acct.Sarah RiceUniversity of ConnecticutTexas A&M University
2007Acct.Jiewei (Jeff) YuMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyUniversity of Arizona
2006MISJames WolfIllinois State UniversityIllinois State University
2006MISDale StoelThe Ohio State UniversityMiami University
2005MISZhuo (June) ChengHong Kong Polytechnic UniversityHong Kong Polytechnic University
2005Acct.Yinglei ZhangChinese University of Hong KongChinese University of Hong Kong
2004MISNeeraj MittalMinistry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (India)World Bank
2003Acct.Keji ChenUniversity of AlabamaCalifornia State University-Northridge
2003MISPatrick JeffersIowa State UniversityGeorgia Southern University
2002Acct.Brian MittendorfYale School of ManagementThe Ohio State University
2002Acct.Anthony NikiasBinghamton UniversityUniversity of Ulsan (South Korea)
2002Acct.TaeHee ChoiHyundai Research InstituteKDI School of Public Policy and Mangement
2002Acct.Gregory SommersSouthern Methodist UniversitySouthern Methodist University
2001Acct.Henock LouisThe Pennsylvania State UniversityThe Pennsylvania State University
2001Acct.Naomi RothenbergPurdue UniversityUniversity of Alberta
2000MISGautam RayUniversity of TexasUniversity of Minnesota
1998Acct.Walter P. SmithMarshall UniversityAuburn University at Montgomery
1997Acct.Kirsten L. AndersonSyracuse UniversityGeorgetown University
1997Acct.Steven T. SchwartzBinghamton University-SUNYBinghamton University-SUNY
1996Acct.Mitchell A. FarleeUniversity of British ColumbiaPrivate Corporation
1996MISRakesh GuptaOklahoma State UniversityFidelity Investments
1996MISDale L. LunsfordThe University of Southern MississippiThe University of Southern Mississippi-Gulf Coast
1996Acct.Gary K. TaylorThe University of AlabamaThe University of Alabama
1995Acct.Scott J. BoylanUniversity of Wisconsin - MadisonWashington & Lee University
1995Acct.Suzanne M. HolifieldPrivate CorporationPriceWaterhouse Coopers
1995MISRaymond A. PattersonThe University of Texas at DallasUniversity of Alberta
1995Acct.Barbara J. SaintyRegina UniversityBrock University
1995Acct.Cynthia Williams TurnerUniversity of Illinois, Urbana-ChampaignThe Ohio State University

*Those PhD alumni who have since passed away or have retired from the field are not listed.

PhD Program Director

FCOB Distinguished Professor Andrew Van Buskirk
438 Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210