The Coykendale Rising Star Award and Coykendale Service Excellence Award are presented annually to two Fisher College of Business staff members who exhibit excellence in their work and have integrated one or more of the core values of the college into their exemplary daily performance.

Formerly the Coykendale MAX Staff Leadership Award, the two awards are named in honor of Cindy Coykendale, who provided more than 35 years of dedicated service to the college.

Our Core Values:

  • Trust
  • Innovation
  • Lifelong Learning
  • Collaboration
  • Inclusiveness


2017 Coykendale Staff Awards Recipients

Coykendale Service Excellence Award Recipient

Andrea Evans, Undergraduate Programs Office
2017 Coykendale Awards - Evans

Coykendale Rising Star Award Recipient

Katie Reynolds, Office of Career Management
2017 Coykendale Awards - Reynolds



  • Coykendale Rising Star Award
    Full-time or part-time staff member with less than five years of Fisher service
  • Coykendale Service Excellence Award
    Full-time or part-time staff member with five or more years of Fisher service
  • Previous recipients (including recipients of the former Coykendale MAX Staff Leadership Award) are not eligible to win the Coykendale Rising Star Award or Coykendale Service Excellence Award for five years.


Nominees must:

  • provide consistent and excellent job performance
  • demonstrate commitment and contribution to one or more of the core values of the college
  • promote a positive and motivating work environment
  • deliver outstanding service to faculty, staff, students, community, and/or other customers


Nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee organized by Fisher Shared Services Center and recommendations will be submitted to the Dean and the Associate Dean for Staff, HR & Administration for approval.


Recipients are honored at the Pace Setters awards ceremony and spring semester staff meeting and each recipient receives a $1,000 one-time cash award. 

For more information about the awards, contact Amber Poindexter or Bill Watercutter.

Nomination details

Nominations for the Coykendale Rising Star Award and Coykendale Service Excellence Award are currently being accepted. Faculty, staff, and students may submit nominations. A single person or a team may nominate an individual.

Download* and complete the nomination form and email the completed form to Bill Watercutter ( by Friday, November 24, 2017.

Download Nomination Form

*Download a copy of the form first, then open it and complete the fields. Completing the form in your browser window is not recommended.

Past Recipients

  • Coykendale MAX Staff Leadership Award Recipients

    2015 Winner: Zach Grammel, Office of Global Business
    2014 Winner: Rob Chabot, Graduate Programs Office
    2013 Winner: Patti Hambley, Information Technology Services
    2012 Winner: Margie Bogenschutz, Office of Career Management
    2011 Winner: Melinda McDonald, Undergraduate Programs and Advising Office
    2010 Winner: Roberto Colon, Information Technology Services
    2009 Winner: Laurie Spadaro, Department of Management Sciences