Demonstrating the incredible thought leadership that differentiates Fisher faculty as among the best in the world, Professor of Finance René Stulz was recently honored with the University Distinguished Scholar Award.

The honor, bestowed by The Ohio State University and its Office of Research, recognizes exceptional research accomplishments by senior professors.

“This prestigious award is an incredible testament to René’s dedication to high-quality, impactful research in the field of finance,” said Anil K. Makhija, Dean and John W. Berry, Sr. Chair in Business at Fisher. “Having worked side by side with René, I saw firsthand how his deep insights and vast experience influenced students and elevated the practice of business. This is an extraodinary recognition of René's passion for research and teaching and serves as an inspiration to all of us at Fisher.”

Ohio State Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Bruce McPheron

Ohio State Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Bruce McPheron presents Professor Rene Stulz with the University Distinguished Scholar Award.

Professor Stulz, who holds the Everett D. Reese Chair of Banking and Monetary Economics at Fisher, received the award during a surprise, in-class presentation from Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Bruce McPheron; Vice President for Research Caroline Whitacre; Dean Makhija; Senior Associate Vice President for Research Janet Weisenberger; Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Outreach Peter Ward; Bernadette Minton, chair of Fisher’sDepartment of Finance; and Prof. Stulz’s wife and daughter.

“We always pay close attention when the letters of recommendation for a candidate include Nobel Prize winners and members of the National Academy of Sciences," Dr. Weisenberger said. "One of the letters actually noted that Dr. Stulz’s impact on the field of finance, as measured by the 56,000 citations to his work, places him ahead of several previous winners of the Nobel Prize. This is a tremendous accomplishment and one certainly worthy of recognition.”

Representatives from The Ohio State University, the Office of Research and Fisher College of Business join Professor Rene Stulz

Representatives from The Ohio State University, the Office of Research and Fisher College of Business join Professor Rene Stulz and his family for a presentation of the University Distinguished Scholar Award.

A world-renowned finance authority, Prof. Stulz is one of the most prolific scholars in finance with 110 articles published in prestigious journals including the Journal of Political Economy, the Journal of Financial Economics, the Journal of Finance and the Review of Financial Studies. His research has been cited over 56,000 times and is frequently referenced in international and national media.

“Receiving this award is a great honor not just for me, but for everyone who has contributed to my work,” Prof. Stulz said. “Research is a team effort. I could not have achieved this without the support of my colleagues in the Department of Finance as well as my amazing administrative assistant.”

Prof. Stulz has been listed among Thomson Reuters’ Highly Cited Researchers numerous times. In February, he joinednine professors from The Ohio State University on the 2015 list as being in the top 1 percent most cited for their subject field.

He has served as managing editor for the Journal of Finance, the field’s leading academic publication. He is past president of the American Finance Association and the Western Finance Association. He is a Fellow of the American Finance Association, the Financial Management Association and the European Corporate Governance Institute. He is a member of the Asset Pricing and Corporate Finance Programs and the director of the Risk of Financial Institutions group of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Prof. Stulz is part of the Squam Lake Group, academics who offer guidance on the reform of financial regulation. He is often invited to provide congressional testimony and consults for major corporations, law firms, the New York Stock Exchange, the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. He is the chair of the Scientific Council, Swiss Finance Institute, and a trustee of the Global Association of Risk Professionals.