Pace Setters

Pace Setters

Join us on March 1, 2024 for this year's celebration of our extraordinary students, faculty and alumni who, through their exemplary scholarship, leadership and service, personify the purpose and passion that define the Max M. Fisher College of Business.

Friday, March 1, 2024
4 - 6 p.m.

The Fawcett Center
2400 Olentangy River Rd
Columbus, OH 43210


Register Here

Registration closes on February 23.

What is Pace Setters?

In 1960, graduates of the College of Commerce, predecessor to Fisher College of Business, shared a common interest in encouraging scholarship and leadership. That year, 132 of them united as new business leaders to fund and promote Pace Setters. The first Pace Setters awards ceremony took place in 1961, honoring the college’s top business students. Since then, more than 3,300 business students - less than 5 percent of the business school's alumni population - have earned Pace Setters recognition.

More information

  • Open/Close Executive Award

    The Pace Setters Executive Award is given annually to a “pace setter” in the business community, recognizing the ideals we strive to instill in our students. As we help them grow and develop, it is with the goal of having them someday be the future leaders that shape the world. View past recipients

  • Open/Close Faculty Awards

    Faculty Award Details

    Daniel Westerbeck Teaching Excellence Award was established the honor in 2000 with a gift to the college. The award draws from student input to honor two Fisher College of Business faculty members - one teaching at the undergraduate level, another at the graduate level - for teaching excellence. View past recipients

    The Bostic-Georges Faculty Service Award was established in March 2002 with gifts from the Bostic family of Columbus, Ohio; the Georges family of Westerville, Ohio; and other friends and supporters. The award recognizes a Fisher faculty member for exemplary service to the college and/or university community. View past recipients

    The Pace Setters Faculty Research Award was established to recognize a Fisher faculty member who has made a notable research contribution in his or her field of study. Nominees are evaluated on the basis of the impact of their research in a given area, and the college research committee makes the final selection. View past recipients

  • Open/Close Student Awards

     Student Award Details

    Pace Setters awards celebrate those students who excel both in and out of the classroom and who exemplify the purpose and passion that define Fisher students. They are juniors and seniors who rank among the top of their class and demonstrate exemplary scholarship, leadership and service to Fisher and the community. Pace Setters exhibit high moral and academic standards, and adhere to the University Code of Student Conduct.

    Apply now

    Walter M. Rudin Junior Scholarship, presented to the most outstanding junior undergraduate

    Robert E. Georges Senior Scholarship, presented to the most outstanding senior undergraduate

    S. Maurice Bostic and Birch S.M. Bostic Memorial Award, presented to the outstanding male member of the graduating class

    Katherine Porter Allen Prize, presented to the outstanding female member of the graduating class 

    Jack W. Stephenson Scholarship, presented to a student with outstanding scholarship, leadership, and athletic accomplishments

    The application for the 2024 Pace Setters Awards will close on October 22, 2023. 

    Minimum Criteria for Undergraduate Pace Setters Selection

    • Junior or senior standing with a minimum GPA of 3.40 (the GPA average for Fisher College) after summer term 2023 grades are posted.
    • Minimum of 60 credit hours at OSU (after summer term) and admission into your area of specialization.
    • Evidence of impactful contributions to Fisher College, Ohio State, or the community through scholarship, leadership, or service. Contributions will be equally weighted in the selection process.

    The 2024 Pace Setter Awards Ceremony will take place at The Ohio State University Fawcett Center on Friday, March 1, 2024 at 4:00pm.

    Questions? Contact Jana Lithgow at