Recognition for Academic Achievement

Fisher students have the opportunity to graduate with honors based on requirements set forth by The Ohio State University and several other organizations.

Latin Honors

A degree cum laude, magna cum laude, or summa cum laude is conferred upon graduates of The Ohio State University who have achieved superior scholarship.

Cum Laude
Graduates who earn a cumulative point hour ratio of 3.50-3.69
Magna Cum Laude
Graduates who earn a cumulative point hour ratio of 3.70-3.89
Summa Cum Laude
Graduates who earn a cumulative point hour ratio of 3.90 or higher

Students must have earned a minimum of 60 cumulative hours at Ohio State to be eligible for Latin Honors.

Dean's List

The Dean's List is generated each semester and consists of those students who earn grade point-hour ratios of 3.50 or above on twelve or more hours of letter-graded course work.  This recognition is noted on the student transcript and advising report.

Beta Alpha Psi

Beta Alpha Psi is the accounting honorary fraternity. Membership is by invitation or petition, and students must have both cumulative and major point-hour ratios of 3.40 and complete an oral examination conducted by the faculty.

Beta Gamma Sigma

Beta Gamma Sigma is an international business administration honorary society for AACSB accredited business programs that encourages and rewards scholarship and accomplishment in the field of business practice. Students are selected for membership based on academic standing in the junior or senior year.

Membership in BGS is the highest international recognition that can be bestowed on students pursuing degrees in business. Benefits to members include scholarship opportunities, an international alumni network, leadership forums, and BGS CareerCentral.

Pace Setters

Fisher's top juniors and seniors are selected for the Pace Setter award based on academic performance and demonstrated leadership ability. Nominated and voted upon by faculty, staff, and peers, Pace Setters are recognized at a spring ceremony.

Each year special scholarships are awarded to: the most outstanding junior and senior undergraduate student, the most outstanding senior male and female student, and the most outstanding collegiate athlete.

More Information