The Pace Setters Executive Award is given annually to a “pace setter” in the business community, recognizing the ideals we strive to instill in our students. As we help them grow and develop, it is with the goal of having them someday be the future leaders that shape the world.

2017 Executive Award Recipient

Karl J. Frey

Karl Frey

Karl J. Frey, CFA, CPA
Senior Managing Director for Mesirow Advanced Strategies, Inc.

Karl Frey is a senior managing director, a member of the Portfolio Management Team for Mesirow Advanced Strategies, Inc. and a member of the executive committee. He is responsible for managing and strategizing customized portfolios for clients. Prior to joining Mesirow Advanced Strategies, Inc. in 2003, Mr. Frey had senior marketing and business development responsibilities within the capital markets group of ABN AMRO Incorporated. He received a B.S.B.A. in accounting from Ohio State University and an M.B.A. from the Anderson School at UCLA. In addition, Mr. Frey is a CFA charterholder and a Certified Public Accountant (CPA).



Past Executive Award Recipients

  • Recipients

    2016: Eric Lenard
    2015: Steven A. Davis
    2014: Jesse J. Tyson
    2013: James E. Rohr
    2012: Paula Bennett
    2011: William E. Arthur
    2010: Sander A. Flaum
    2009: Press Southworth III 
    2008: Joseph A. Alutto 
    2007: Kenneth Coleman 
    2006: Elizabeth Mily
    2005: Clayton Daley 
    2004: James E. Grote and Jane Grote Abell 
    2003: Irving Schottenstein 
    2002: Kerrii Anderson 
    2001: David T. Kollat 
    2000: Tanny Crane 
    1999: Vincent T. Aveni 
    1998: J.A. “Fred” Brothers 
    1997: Diane R. Sauer 
    1996: Alan J. Patricof 
    1995: Frederick G. Ruffner Jr. 
    1994: Raymond E. Mason,Jr. 
    1993: Sandra W. Harbrecht 
    1992: Charles Y. Lazarus 
    1991: Donald B. Shackelford 
    1990: John B. Gerlach Sr. 
    1989: Katherine S. LeVeque 
    1988: John F. Havens 
    1987: John H. McConnell 
    1986: William P. Cheng 
    1985: Ray J. Groves