August 11, 2011

Fisher students named Petro Fellows by Ohio Auditor

2011 Petro Fellows
Members of the first class of Petro Fellows (from left) Jacqueline Emmenecker, Brian Newsome, Yunzhu Liu, and Zach Kromer are joined by Fisher College of Business Dean Christine Poon, Ohio Auditor of State David Yost, and Ohio Board of Regents Chancellor Jim Petro.

Dean Poon joined Ohio Auditor of State David Yost and Ohio Board of Regents Chancellor Jim Petro at the Ohio Statehouse to announce the first Petro Fellows — graduate students who will join the Ohio Performance Team.

Four Petro Fellows were selected as part of the inaugural class, including Fisher students Brian Newsome, Jacqueline Emmenecker, and Zach Kromer. Yunzhu Liu from the John Glenn School of Public Affairs was also selected to participate. The Ohio Performance Team is charged with conducting performance audits of state agencies to streamline agency operations and ensure optimal use of tax dollars.

The Petro Fellowship is named in honor of Chancellor Petro, who was instrumental in bringing performance audits to Ohio government while serving as the state’s auditor. This cooperative partnership with The Ohio State University invites a select group of students to join the Ohio Performance Team. As members of OPT, Petro Fellows will have the opportunity to get hands-on experience in conducting performance audits.

The first round of agencies to be audited in the coming biennium includes: the Ohio Department of Education, the Ohio Department of Transportation, the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services, and the Ohio Housing Finance Agency.