Faculty Recognition

Research by Allenby receives “Long Term Impact Award”

A paper co-authored by Greg Allenby, the Helen C. Kurtz Chair in Marketing, was the recipient of the “2010 ISMS Long Term Impact Award” by the INFORMS’ Society for Marketing Science.

The award is given annually to a research paper published within the last five to 10 years that has been judged to have had the greatest impact in the field. “Bayesian Statistics and Marketing,” which Allenby co-authored with Peter Rossi of the University of California at Los Angeles, was published in 2003 in the journal Marketing Science.

“Bayesian Statistics and Marketing was a review paper that summarized Bayesian research in the field of marketing during the previous 15 years, and is a summary of much of the research Peter and I have done in our careers,” Allenby said. “The paper is highly cited and the field of marketing has experience a large development of Bayesian methods to address specific issues in the field ranging from market segmentation, the analysis of customer satisfaction data, understanding consumer choice, price optimization and advertising effects.”

Oglevee wins university Career Services Award

As a member of the finance faculty, Dan Oglevee’s responsibilities include teaching graduate, undergraduate and executive education courses, coaching case competition teams, consulting Fisher’s research centers and advising students and student organizations.

On May 4 at the Ohio State Faculty Club, Oglevee received a university honor for a role he plays that is not even in his job description, the 2010 University Career Services Award.

“It is an unbelievable bonus to our work when a faculty member fully engages in helping students secure internships and post-graduate employment,” said Jeffrey Rice, executive director of Fisher’s Office of Career Management at the award ceremony. “And, when that faculty member actually succeeds in job markets that are especially challenging—it is a home run. Fisher College of Business is blessed with such a faculty member in Dan Oglevee.”

The University Career Services Committee (UCSC) presents the annual award to an individual in the university community—who does not work in a career services job—who makes a significant contribution to the career development of students.

Oglevee, a former Wall Street banker, entrepreneur and venture capitalist, partnered with the Office of Career Management in developing a go to market strategy, Rice said. He credited Oglevee for providing assistance to 60 Fisher students who eventually secured positions at over 20 financial institutions in New York City over the last eight years.

Dial receives Ohio State 2010 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching

In one sweeping “Surprise! This-Is-Your-Life” moment that included an in-class ambush by Ohio State President E. Gordon Gee, Provost Joe Alutto, Alumni Association President Archie Griffin, Fisher Dean Christine Poon and a dozen others, management professor Jay Dial was awarded the 2010 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching on Thursday, April 15 in front of his strategy class in Gerlach Hall.

With video camera rolling and flash from university photographers, Gee and the large entourage that included Dial’s wife, Aparna, and son, Bennett and David Greenberger, chair of Management Human Resources, burst in on the strategy class to make the presentation. Griffin presented Dial with the “Academy of Teaching” medal.

“He is truly one of our most distinguished faculty and teachers,” said Gee, who read from one student’s nomination essay: “ ‘He works our butts off and I learn a tremendous amount from him. He’s the best.’”

Dial teaches the capstone Strategy Formulation and Implementation general management course in the MBA program at Fisher as well as the core Organizational Economics course.
The Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching honors faculty members for superior teaching. Recipients are nominated by present and former students and colleagues and are chosen by a committee of alumni, students and faculty.

Weisbach receives best paper award at 2010 American Finance Association conference

Michael Weisbach, professor and Ralph W. Kurtz Chair in Finance, received the first-place Brattle Group Prize for outstanding paper on corporate finance at the American Finance Association’s 2010 annual conference in January in Atlanta.

Weisbach co-authored, “Why are Buyouts Levered? The Financial Structure of Private Equity Funds,” with Ulf Axelson and Per Stromberg, both of the Stockholm School of Economics. It was published in August 2009 in The Journal of Finance.

According to the abstract, “this paper presents a model of the financial structure of private equity firms. In the model, the general partner of the firm encounters a sequence of deals over time where the exact quality of each deal cannot be credibly communicated to investors. We show that the optimal financing arrangement is consistent with a number of characteristics of the private equity industry.”

The Brattle Group Prizes are awarded annually for outstanding papers on corporate finance. The winning papers are chosen by the associate editors of The Journal of Finance.

Wruck wins leadership award from Association of Staff and Faculty Women at Ohio State

Karen Hopper Wruck, associate dean for Graduate Programs and professor of finance, received the Mary Ann Williams Leadership Award on May 5 from the Association of Staff and Faculty Women at Ohio State. Wruck received the award at the sixth annual Ballam Women’s Symposium.

The award recognizes a university woman who exhibits “a special kind of leadership.” According to the award’s criteria, the (recipient) instills in others a sense of confidence to succeed, promotes a greater understanding of others, bridges differences and encourages co-workers and friends to collaborate and cooperate.”

One award nominator wrote about Wruck: “Karen considers the opportunities for growth that will be offered to prospective students who may have less traditional backgrounds. She is always able to find positive character traits in people and is supportive of individuals who demonstrate a strong work ethic…She always makes herself available for students that seek her counsel and enjoys acting as a mentor to them.”

Jay Dial Slideshow

Jay Dial-Distinguished Teaching Award
Jay Dial, management professor receives the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching from a contingent including Ohio State President E. Gordon Gee, Provost Joe Alutto, Alumni Association President Archie Griffin, Fisher Dean Christine Poon and a dozen others.

Watch a YouTube video of distinguished faculty members throughout Ohio State, including Dial, receive their awards.

No comments

Show View and Add Comments