Fisher to honor five distinguished alums at
2007 Dean's Dinner and Alumni Awards

Five outstanding Fisher College of Business alums whose hard work has made a difference in the corporate world and the community will be honored at the annual 2007 Dean’s Dinner and Alumni Awards Presentation. The dinner and ceremony will be held at 6 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 19 at the Blackwell Inn on the Fisher campus.

Joseph A. Alutto, Ohio State interim executive vice president and provost, will also be acknowledged during the banquet for his contributions to Fisher.

Vincent Aveni
Since 1993, the Alumni Society of the Fisher College of Business has recognized outstanding alumni, who have brought distinction to themselves and the college through their outstanding achievements as well as generously contributed time and resources to Fisher. Alumni are honored in five categories. This year an Entrepreneurship Award was added to recognize alums instrumental in the development, launch or growth of one or more successful new ventures and are committed to helping the next generation of entrepreneurs.

The inaugural recipient of the Entrepreneurship Award will be given posthumously to Vincent Aveni, a 1947 graduate of Fisher and founder of Realty One. He built the Cleveland-based firm into one of the largest residential brokerage firms in the Midwest and the ninth largest in the United States through strong internal growth and the acquisition and
Timothy Michael
consolidation of more than 50 real estate companies. With his partners, he also developed shopping centers, office buildings, industrial parks, parking garages and hotels.

Aveni’s contributions are visible around the Fisher campus including the Aveni Media Center on the first floor of Mason Hall. In addition to the physical presence, Aveni established the Dean’s Innovation Fund along with his wife, Pat, he served as a committee member for the “Affirm Thy Friendship” campaign in the 1990s, and was a member of the MBA Housing committee and the Ohio State Foundation Board. He was previously honored by Fisher with the 1999 Pace Setters Executive Award and the college’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003. He received the university’s Distinguished Service Award in 2006.

Jesse J. Tyson
The Distinguished Alumni Award will be given to Timothy Michael, the principal of Cincinnati-based private investment firm Michael Freres & Associates, Inc. Prior to founding the firm in 2002, he was the CEO and owner of two companies that grew rapidly and were sold to publicly owned companies. He spent 15 years in the investment banking industry prior to becoming an entrepreneur.

Michael received his MBA from Fisher in 1976 after he entered military service as an officer in the U.S. Navy. He is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council and funds MBA scholarships for minority students and former or current active duty members of the U.S. military.

Jesse J. Tyson, president of ExxonMobil Inter-America Inc., will receive the International Service Award,
Jennifer Roer
for outstanding performance in international business. Tyson, who earned his MBA from Fisher in 1976, has been employed by ExxonMobil for more than 30 years. In 2002, he was appointed marketing director of Americas South Fuels and president of ExxonMobil Inter-America Inc., which is based in Coral Gables, Fla. Tyson is responsible for ExxonMobil's Fuels marketing retail business in the Caribbean, Central America, Andean region and South America. Tyson, a native of Jackson, Tenn., was also selected for the transition team during the merger of Exxon and Mobil in 1999.

Jennifer Roer, the executive director of the Frank M. Tait Foundation, will receive the Community Service Award for her commitment, involvement and service to the community. Roer, who earned her MBA from Fisher in 1979, is the leader of a private foundation that focuses on youth development initiatives in Montgomery County, Ohio. Since joining the
David Schoettmer
foundation in 2003, she was instrumental in the development of the Montgomery County Early Care and Education Initiative. Prior to her current position, Roer served as the executive director of the National Conference for Community and Justice, where she worked to prevent bias, bigotry and racism in the Greater Dayton community.

Roer, a native of Sylvania, Ohio, has served as president of the Junior League of Dayton and the Dayton Art Institute Associate Board. Her board memberships include the YWCA of Greater Dayton, Children’s Medical Center Foundation and the Montgomery County Family & Children First Council. As a breast cancer survivor, Roer has raised funds for Kettering Medical Center Foundation’s Women’s Wellness Fund that provides mammograms and prostheses to underserved women.

David Schoettmer, president and senior partner of Navigator Management Partners LLC, will receive the Young Professional Achievement Award for early career achievements and service as a mentor to younger professionals. Schoettmer, who received his MBA from Fisher in 1994, is the founder of the Columbus-based management and information technology consulting firm specializing in project management, business process design and packaged software implementation services. The firm is a key service provider to many of the Fortune 1000 companies in the greater Columbus region and has been recognized locally for its rapid growth and “best places to work” status. He was recently recognized as one of the top 40 business leaders in the greater Columbus region under the age of 40 by Columbus Business First.