Faculty Recognition

Fisher faculty received 96 awards, professional recognitions, honorary degrees, scholarly citations, research fellowships and scholarships during the 2008-09 academic year. The awards ranged from professional organizations, such as the Academy of Management and the Journal of Operations Management, to research grants from Harvard University, the Federal Depository Insurance Corporation, as well as honors from the Governor of Ohio, The Ohio State University and Fisher students.

Michael Camp
Leading the nation in entrepreneurship education

Michael Camp, academic director for the Center for Entrepreneurship, was one of four university educators from across the nation to receive the 2009 Olympus Innovation Award, at the annual meeting of the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance a co-sponsor of the award along with the technology company Olympus.

Camp was credited as the designer of the Technology Entrepreneurship and Commercialization (TEC) Academy and the TEC Institute.

He was honored for his work at Ohio State, for his leadership in training business and science students in technology commercialization and entrepreneurship. Camp was praised for his leadership advice around designing and building sustainable, innovative educational and engagement programs that accelerate the monetization of intellectual property, enhance the survivability of new technology ventures, and stabilize regional economies.

Marc Smith
Developing creative teaching techniques that enhance learning

Marc Smith, a senior lecturer in accounting and MIS, was one of 10 winners of the University System of Ohio’s first “Faculty Innovator Award.” The award was presented by Ohio Board of Regents Chancellor Eric D. Fingerhut and Governor Ted Strickland before the Ohio General Assembly on March 24.

The award recognizes work by Ohio faculty members who have introduced digital course materials in the classroom that enrich learning and make college textbooks more affordable for their students. Chancellor Fingerhut called Smith “an influential innovator in the area of online learning in The Ohio State University's Fisher College of Business.” Smith was also named Professor of the Year by Alpha Kappa Psi, Fisher’s business fraternity.

Andrea Prud’homme
Offering supportive guidance to students

The Ohio Union named Andrea Prud’homme, an assistant clinical professor in the Department of Management Sciences, the 2009 Outstanding Student Organization Advisor for her work with the Buckeye Operations Management Society.

Prud’homme received the award at the 48th Annual Leadership Awards held on May 15 at the Fawcett Center. The award celebrates the people who strive to make a difference at Ohio State. She was nominated for the award by the student members of the Buckeye Operations Management Society.

René M. Stulz
Providing internationally acclaimed financial counsel to the business community

The Global Association of Risk Professionals awarded the Association’s 2008 Risk Manager of the Year Award to René M. Stulz, the Everett D. Reese Chair of Banking and Monetary Economics, at Fisher.

Stulz was honored during the Association’s 10th Annual Risk Management Convention & Exhibition on February 10 at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City.

“We are delighted to name Dr. Stulz as our Risk Manager of the Year in recognition of his many years of contributions to risk management through his extensive work in academia, as well as a lecturer, author, consultant and an association trustee,” said Richard Apostolik, Global Association of Risk Professionals President and CEO. “We are grateful for his dedication and commitment to furthering the role of risk management; particularly at this time of dramatic evolution within the industry.”